top of page
Search

RELEASE


“We have emotions for a reason, they are meant to be felt. It’s important that we experience what it is that we’re feeling so that we can better understand ourselves and come to truly appreciate what is in front of us. Sometimes those emotions can become too much for us to handle and that’s okay, so we find that place where we can allow ourselves to let that shit out.”

-DJ Jackson


THE BUILD-UP

As I look above, I focus on the heavy clouds that flood the sky. Honoring their existence as the wind begins to shift their formation. Reminding me of the consistent fluctuating emotions that society forces us to experience.

Bouncing between moments of positivity and negativity, as well as anything in-between or beyond. The more our minds process these conflicting emotions, the more we approach our limit of tolerance to withhold them.

SAFE PLACE

Most of us live lives that restrict us from expressing the feelings that we experience. We can’t act on our anger while we’re at work or let out an invigorating yell while grocery shopping at Target.


Personally, I always thought learning self-control was the answer to preventing an outburst. Finding little tricks that I can use to calm myself down when my emotions became overbearing.


Control may be an important factor, however, it is not always the answer to the problem. It is just as essential to have a safe place where we are able to release the build-up that we have created.


In other words, when the teapot starts screaming, it is time to take it off of the heat. We just need to find that specific place where we can scream, cry, hit, or even throw and break something without repercussions.


MY PLACE

It took a tremendous amount of focus and dedication for me to be able to feel the true importance of my breath.


Any time we have anxiety, an emotional outburst, or even a mental breakdown, what is the first thing we are told to do? We are reminded of the importance of slowing down and expanding the depth of our breath.


This is because our emotions have the ability to be released through the exact breath that flows through our lungs. Our sporadic emotions tend to deprive our bodies of the oxygen and blood flow that it needs in order to prevent these exact sensations; once we allow that airflow to return to its natural rhythm, we create the ability to diminish the problem.


Although our day-to-day stresses and emotions can be eased through our breath, if the build-up we cause exceeds a certain limit, it may take more than just a few deep breaths to solve the problem.


This is where I came to find the necessary purpose of Pranayama, or breathwork practice. A safe place where I am able to focus solely on my breath for hours on end. Throughout these long sessions, I have found that I am able to tap into certain emotions and traumas that I am not normally able to access. Causing me to release subconscious pain and anger that I was not originally aware of, to a bigger extent than I had ever imagined.


I am very grateful for coming to understand the importance of all the simple things. However, I have come to accept the fact that sometimes these simple things do not always cure the problems I may be experiencing.


Personally, once I have exceeded my limit of what I can handle, I feel the need to act on those emotions. Causing multiple styles of fighting and high-intensity training to bring me a sense of attainable peace.


I may not have a breathwork professional that I am able to consistently see or a fighting gym that I can use to act out on my built-up anger, yet. However, I now know the safe place that I am seeking in my search for inner peace.


EPILOGUE

As I have said before, these writings are an expression of my experiences in this life. I do not write about anything other than situations and conversations that are in some way relevant to my current life.


Everything that I choose to write is based on the struggles and thoughts that I reflect on, daily. I admit this brand is my attempt at promoting my lifelong dream of helping create a better world, although, that is not necessarily the reason why it began. Truthfully, this all started as a way for me to release all the shit that I had let build up for too fucking long.


I have to say, even though these writings may be scary, discouraging, tormenting, embarrassing, and risky for me to promote… it feels fucking amazing to let it all out.






65 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page